Turkish Coffee

The Fellow and I are sending goofy texts to each other while I sit here in the cafe, and he’s at work. So you get two poems in a row with a kiss in them. I was damn impressed with Irene’s poem for We Write Poems, using only twelve words; and if there’s one thing I love, it’s a challenge. This is what putting my shoulder to the wheel resulted in. You get very little room in twelve words unless you’re Hemingway, so I had a bit of fun with the language, trying to get as many “t” and “k” and “sh” sounds to reflect the title as I could, without losing the image.

In tasseography, kites signify wishes coming true, or at least in kahve falı, the Turkish version (I believe). And I take sugar with my Turkish coffee, in copious amounts.

Turkish Coffee

shared– overturned–

showing two
sugar-kissed kites
entwined–

twisting our kismet
shut

11 thoughts on “Turkish Coffee

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Concise is nice. I worry about your coffee consumption. Try swapping it for water for a week!

  2. Irene says:

    Very sweety and call it synchronicity but I was watching kites in the sky yesterday.

    Love how you put it: You get very little room in twelve words unless you’re Hemingway!

  3. brian miller says:

    smiles….i like…and i like hte interesting use of kites…i am glad you explained it…never too much coffee for me either…smiles…

  4. Actually, I would have taken “kites” with a different understanding – my friend Muna’s coffee (Arabic, like the Turkish – do you add sugar to the boiling mix to get that sweet sludge in the bottom of the cup?), I get high as a kite. I once asked her if there was Arabic decaf, and she looked at me with that “silly American” expression and said, “Who would drink it?”

    This is spare, not an ounce of fat on the whole poem, and so romantic! Thanks for letting us know about your texts with your Fellow and I hope one day to meet him. Love, Amy

  5. dfb says:

    I love this.

  6. nan says:

    kites in the cup. nice. (I love Turkish coffee, and the prophecy that comes at the end.)

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Sorry, not a coffee drinker, but that certainly doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the movement and wordplay of your poem. Both of which are skillful and a delight to read.

    Elizabeth

  8. Yousei Hime says:

    Delicious. Your compliment to Irene sparking my competitiveness. I wrote one, and though not as good as hers (which was brilliant) or yours (which are almost always brilliant), I like it. Happy to be writing and reading your posts.

  9. unevenstevencu says:

    always an adventure reading your poems – enjoyable

  10. lucychili says:

    an interesting world =)

  11. Dhyan says:

    I always wonder what is the English word for that. Could you also verb it?
    good one.

Leave a Reply

