Lúnasa

This is not the poem I intended to write at all. But due to (ahem!) circumstances this evening, this is just what spilled out. It is completely raw, and full of memories, and correspondences (calendar date-wise, soul-wise, faith-wise), and I am posting this up here. Before I change my mind! (This is an extremely rare impulse for me… somebody copy this, and if I delete it later, yell at me to re-post and send it to me un-blemished.)

For now, though, bed. I wish you August beginnings!

Lúnasa

I’m thinking of you in the lighter’s flare
flicking its dragon tongue and the flecks of ash
woven a black spider web weave: we were alive
in the park at night.

We caught a bat in the tips of our shadows;
we raised our hands for Jesus; we shook; we prayed.
I held your hand for the Speaking Of God,
and you opened the top of your wrist for me.
We built up a pyre
speaking the letters of Holy Names,
and we burnt our scraps for Lúnasa
in the park at night.

I’m thinking of you in my brazen scales,
dipping and changing your weight.
You told me the names of the lotus round my heart;
I petted and swayed with the Holy Ghost.
Dipped your candles red for me,
in the park at night.
I’m thinking of you and imagining us
in the park at night.

Tonight I’m drinking in the sea for you,
I’m burning my scraps for Lúnasa.
I’m a strawberry runner on Lúnasa, unshadowed,
in the park at night.

Give me your luminous glove in my paw,
and we’ll stripe each other with faith.
Give me your Christian charity, unbind,
and dig in the ripening earth with me
in the park at night.
I’ll give you a red thread of Lúnasa,
to match. I’m thinking of you when I breathe deep,
and somewhere our secrets are back-to-back,
wing-to-wing, the seraphim of us.
In the tall blue smoke of us, there is
a full moon pillar of cloud, there is
a young sun pillar of fire.

4 thoughts on “Lúnasa

  1. Yousei Hime says:

    A ark of secrets flanked by angels following the changing presence of a god–I love everything you’ve woven together in this. I’ve read it three times so far, and I keep finding new things–sensual and delicious, familiar and faint–I know I’ll tuck this away just in case you lose your way.

  2. brian miller says:

    this does have lots of great elements to it…a bit of magic, spirituaality and intimacy…while raw i think you have the makings of something really good with a bit of refining….

  3. Love becomes its own religion setting up rituals — intimate, deep, hinging on all other rituals, all other faiths as it pierces every fiber, skin, muscle, organ, bone to the marrow — to the stream of life itself..it is what we were born to do. Well expressed.

  4. jenneandrews says:

    I would say that these lyrical impulses are fabulous. I especially like: I’m thinking of you in my brazen scales,
    dipping and changing your weight.
    You told me the names of the lotus round my heart;
    I petted and swayed with the Holy Ghost.
    Dipped your candles red for me,
    in the park at night.
    I’m thinking of you and imagining us
    in the park at night. —

    I must say heads above so much of what we read…. xj http://parolavivace.blogspot.com .

Leave a Reply

