The Conjurer

Just a little fluff piece. DVerse was asking for englynion, and I thought, “Pssh, I’m old hat at those!” (Except, barring one attempt from a while back and some from more recently, I’m really not.) Then I started thinking about “old hat”, and it turned into thinking about stage magic. Which became this set of three englynion, strung together. I guess it’s a little bit forced, since I did both cynghanedd lusg and englyn unodl union, and had a lot of sound stringing to do, which I still mucked around with. But at least it’s relatively cogent. Just something to keep the digits busy.

The Conjurer

Aces of spades, rabbits from hats: I trade
tricks on cue, chew the fats.
Never passed on the fast chats:
wave of the wand, and I’m gone. That’s
the life– but these arts grant no skill with hearts.
Who’ll pull the wool, and shill
for me? You’ll see what I will,
while I await a mate still.
I can’t vanish the enchanted moon: but
bring a smile, and I’ll soon
have its burned coin learned. A rune,
our monogram; “voilà!”, our tune.

13 thoughts on “The Conjurer

  1. brian miller says:

    these arts grant no skill with hearts….yep, true that….fun rhythm in this…perhaps the magic if it brings enough smiles will win the hear to fhte one someday….really fun rhythm and sounds in your poem…nicely done on the form…

  2. Lots of word play and rhythmic changes. So much fun! just as a poem. I don’t care if it’s strict or not…(and still unsure myself what is & isn’t) – this is poetry and that’s the crux of what we do, and want to do anyway, isn’t it!

  3. I love this! I really like the way it’s written and flow – just shows me how it can be done. Thanks.

  4. festivalking says:

    Like the way this was conjured ;)

  5. Bodhirose says:

    Really great…enjoyed every word!

  6. myrthryn says:

    This has a great rhythm, I enjoyed this.

  7. Sara V says:

    Didn’t feel forced, felt very fluid–you might say “magical” :-)

  8. Sue Judd says:

    It may not be completely true to form, but I like it…it’s fluid, with a lovely rhythm and above all fun!

  9. vivinfrance says:

    The first and third groups do it for me, but the middle one seems a tad forced. Would benefit from a little pruning?

  10. Kim Nelson says:

    I can tell you had fun with the process, which is the name of the game.

  11. Sabio Lantz says:

    Indeed seems you had fun.
    But it is over my head, I’m afraid. I looked through comment for cues, but none.
    Any hints:
    wool & shill?
    burned coin?
    our monogram?

  12. Brian: I hate letting the form get in the way of a good story. But I realized the story wasn’t that great here, so I let the form run wild. :P
    Gay: the trouble with englynion and cynghanedd is that there are so many variants that are almost identical; even if this isn’t quite right for the one I chose, it’s probably fine for one of the others. I’m sure most of the bardic audiences didn’t care too much, only the other bards…
    Pam: thanks very much!
    Fest: oh man, if only. It was more painstakingly whittled rather than pulled out of a hat.
    Bodhi: gracias!
    Myrthryn: diolch yn fawr!
    Sara: I wouldn’t say it, but I’m glad you thought so. :)
    Sue: after a long week, sometimes a body needs a little fun, I suppose…
    Viv: the trouble is that pruning this thing would be nigh-impossible. But I agree with you: the first part flowed so easily, and then I realized, shit, I’m not ready to end this. The second is definitely the problem part.
    Kim: the most aggravating kind of fun there is!
    Sabio: “pull the wool” as in “pull the wool over your eyes”, that is, deceive. A “shill”, or “plant” is someone in an audience for a magic show who will be a “volunteer” for a trick, or give the answer the magician is looking for. The “burned coin” is just a metaphor for the moon (and a reference to coin tricks, I suppose), while “monogram” is just the idea of a shared initial (think “Someone to Watch Over Me” by Gershwin). Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

